Ikpeazu swears-in 27 new commissioners

Posted by News Express | 26 October 2021 | 416 times

Gmail icon

•The new commissioners during their swearing-in on Tuesday in Umuahia



Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State today, Tuesday, October 26, 2021, swore-in 27 new commissioners.

Speaking shortly after the swearing in ceremony at the Michael Okpara Auditorium Umuahia, Ikpeazu said the new commissioners were carefully selected to support to drive his administration’s vision for a better life for Abia people.

Noting that his administration is on its final lap, Ikpeazu spoke of his desire to complete ongoing projects and possibly embark on new ones. He charged the new appointees to be active players in the socio-political and economic renaissance of the state.

While warning that there is nothing juicy in the appointments, he cautioned those whose agenda is to line their pockets that they will be disappointed and challenged them to see their appointments as calls to duty.

Ikpeazu assured that his administration will substantially provide them with the resources to work with, but also admonished them to leverage their connections and wealth of experience in moving their various ministries forward.

He advised them to remain loyal to the government as those found wanting will be shown the way out.

He also implored them to keep in touch with their localities as government will be relying on them to galvanize support from the grassroots.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the new Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Barrister Eze Chikamnayo, thanked the Governor for the privilege to be part of the State Executive Council and assured that they will not let the Government and Abians down.

The new commissioners and their portfolios are:

Mazi Donatus Okorie – Cooperatives and Rural development

Mr Ndom Godwin – Boundary Matters

Chief Okezie Erondu – Science and Technology

Professor Ikechi Mgbeoji – Agriculture

Pascal Karibe Ojigwe – Sports

Mrs Uwaoma Olewengwa – Industry, Promotions and Development

Prince Christopher Enweremadu – Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs

Barr. Charles Esonu – Ministry of Youth Development

Chief Chinagorom Nwankpa – Housing

Hon. Monday Ejiegbu – Parastatals

Deaconess Rose Urenta –Women Affairs

Chief Kingsley Imaga – Public Utilities

Chidiebere Uwagwu Kalu – Establishment and Training

Barr. Chijioke Mark – Post-Basic Education

Chief Chisom Nwachukwu – Special duties/Vulnerable groups

Mr. Sopuruchi Bekee – Homeland Security

Chief Eze Nwanganga – Petroleum and Energy Development

Barr Tony Nwanmuo – Culture and Tourism

Barr. Sam Nwogu – Environment

Dr Chidi Onwuchuruba – Lands and Survey,

Mr Ugochukwu Emezue – Documentation and Strategic Communications,

Mrs Adaku Uwaoma Onusiriuka Oseiza – Small and Medium Enterprises and New Businesses Development

Barr. Eze Chikamnayo – Information and Strategy

Chief Godswill Uche Nwanoruo – Transport

Prince Obinna Okey – Inter-Governmental Affairs

Chief Ukwu Rocks Emma – Ministry of Basic Education

Barr Chinenye Emelogu – Joint Projects Implementations

Chief John Okiyi Kalu – Trade and Commerce

The Deputy Governor Sir Ude Oko Chukwu, the Member representing Ukwa West State constituency, Hon. Godwin Adiele, the State Chairman of the PDP, Rt Hon Asiforo Okere, the Secretary to Government, Barrister Chris Ezem, Head of Service, Sir Onyii Wamah, the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Prof. ACB Agbazuere, the Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Deputy Governor, Sir Don Ubani, among other distinguished Abians, witnessed the ceremony while the oath of office was administered by the Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Mrs Uzoamaka Uche Ikonne.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...