Rights group kicks against nominations for vacancies in Federal High Courts

Posted by News Express | 30 March 2021 | 441 times

Gmail icon

A human rights group, the Centre for Human Rights and Social Justice (CHRSJ), has kicked against the nomination of some individuals to fill the six available vacancies at the Federal High Courts in the country.

The group in a statement signed by its  Executive Chairman, Comrade Adeniyi Alimi Sulaiman, kicked against the nomination of some individuals due to their alleged past malfeasance.

CHRSJ, which said it was already making its complaints formal through a petition to the relevant judicial quarters, implored the stakeholders to ensure the right people are chosen to fill the available vacancies.

According to Sulaiman, the group would not hesitate to take the case to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) and Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) if the right thing is not done.

He said that, for instance, an uneasy calm now pervades the Osun State Judiciary over the nomination and the shortlisting of some of those angling for the position including, Mrs. Bolatito Ajibade, the current Chief Registrar of the Ondo State High Court, Akure, who was in 2010, allegedly sacked by the then Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Aloysius Katsina Alu, as the Secretary to the National Judicial Institute as reported in the media.

Comrade Sulaiman wondered why individuals charged with alleged misconducts could be nominated to represent their states.

Originally, over 150 of them who are either judges or lawyers being indigenes of Osun but resident in different parts of the nation, had applied for the single slot allocated to the state.

However, in a circular dated March 8, 2021, addressed to Judges of Federal High Courts across the Federation and signed by the Chief Judge, Justice John Tsoho, six of them were shortlisted from Osun.

These include Mrs. Ajibade Bolatito, Olakunle Yusuf, Ayilara Olusegun Ayodele, Oladigbolu Abidemi Monday, Fagbenle Emmanuel Olusegun and Abodunde Hazrat Babalakin-Are.

Aside Osun, states like Niger, Kano, Katsina and Yobe, have equally received the names of their shortlisted candidates from which they will choose one each, to be appointed as a Federal High Court Judge.

From Niger State, 10 people were shortlisted which includes Chiroma Moses Gamzhi, Bala Khalifa Muhammed, Jibo Maryam Daso, Ojimi Rachael Sufia, Musa Suleiman Liman, Baba Alhaji Saidu, Fati Suleiman Takuma, Garafini Ahmed A, Nasiru Muazu and Murtala Muhammed Bala.

Kano has Mukhtar Garba Dandago, Ahmed G. Mohammed, Musa Ahmed, Binta Mansur Mahmoud, Hanif Sanusi Yusuf and Kyauta Abdullahi.

Those shortlisted from Kastina State are Aminu Garba, Umar Abdul-Raman, Abdulmumeen Nuradeen, Halima Lawal Bagiwa, Aliyu Amina Mohammad and Nasiru Salele while from Yobe are Emmanuel Gakko and Mohammed Adamu Jarere. Others include Mohammed Garba Bawa, Mustapha Wakil, Usman Lukman Nuhu and Aisha Ahmed Fika M.

The human rights group therefore appealed to the Chief Judge of Federal High Court and those of the states of federation, particularly the five states concerned, to ensure that people with track records and proven integrity are chosen for the higher judicial responsibilities.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...