State Assembly Speakers emerge in Lagos, Enugu, Kaduna

Posted by News Express | 9 June 2015 | 3,519 times

Gmail icon

The Houses of Assembly of Lagos, Enugu and Kaduna were inaugurated yesterday and quickly elected their principal officers.

In Lagos, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa (Agege 1) was elected Speaker while Hon. Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni (Lagos Island 1) was elected Deputy Speaker.

Obasa, in his acceptance speech, said the lawmakers would work hamoniously with the executive and judicial arms of government to move the state forward.

According to him, the speaker and other members of the assembly are stewards of residents of Lagos and will not fail the electorate.

In Enugu, Hon. Edward Ubosi emerged the Speaker. Ubosi promised that he would put the interest of the state above personal interests in ensuring better synergy among members.

He also gave the assurance of a cordial working relationship between the legislature and executive arms of government.

And in Kaduna, the House of Assembly elected the member representing Sabon Gari Constituency, Hon. Aminu Shagali, as Speaker.

Hon. Gwarzo John Audu emerged as Deputy Speaker of the House which comprises of 27 All Progressives Congress (APC) members and six members from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

In his post-inaugural address, Shagali pledged to sustain the confidence reposed in him by members and also work assiduously to make laws for good governance of Kaduna State.

•Photo shows State House of Speaker’s table.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...