Pan-Yoruba summit holds in Ibadan January 21

Posted by News Express | 16 January 2021 | 473 times

Gmail icon

•Yoruba leaders

The Yoruba Patriots Movement has said it will hold a summit for Yoruba leaders, eminent personalities and a cross section of stakeholders in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital.

The group, in a statement titled, ‘Pan-Yoruba summit holds in Ibadan, Oyo State,’ and signed by the Secretary of the Planning Committee, Pan-Yoruba Summit Conveners, Adekunle Olayinka, said the summit, with the theme ‘Yoruba Nation: Yesterday, today and tomorrow,’ would hold on January 21 at the International Conference Centre, University of Ibadan, at 10am.

It said the event would be held in strict compliance with COVID-19 protocols and would feature a virtual component to facilitate the participation of a wide spectrum of stakeholders in the affairs of the Yoruba nation.

The group added that the summit would deliberate on prevailing and future socio-political challenges as well as prospects of the Yoruba nation, with emphasis on issues that bother on the welfare, security and mutual coexistence of Yoruba people within a peaceful, stable and united Nigeria.

It also said a communiqué on the way forward that approximates the concerns and expectations of the Yoruba nation in Nigeria would emanate from deliberations at the summit.

The statement read in part, “The summit to be co-chaired by General Alani Akinrinade, former Chief of Defence.”

Staff, and High Chief Rashidi Ladoja, former Governor of Oyo State, will have in attendance present and former governors as well as notable past and present political office holders in the six South-West states of Lagos, Ekiti, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo.

“The summit will receive royal blessings from custodians of Yoruba traditional institutions: Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi (Ojaja II), Ooni of Ife; Oba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi (II), Alaafin of Oyo; Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo (II), Alake of Egba Land; Oba Rilwan Akiolu, Oba of Lagos; Oba Fredrick Obateru Akinruntan; Olugbo of Ugbo Kingdom; Oba Rufus Aladesanmi (II),  among others.

Oba Saliu Akanmu Adetunji (Aje Oguguniso I), Olubadan of Ibadan Land; Oba Sikiru Adetona, The Awujale of Ijebu Land; Oba Adebanji Ajibade Alabi (Afuntade I), Alawe of Ilawe; and Oba (Dr) Aderemi Alayemore, the Olujudo of Ido-Osun.”  (Saturday Punch)




Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...