NLNG Corporate Caring banner First bank SME Connect Fidelity bank card banner Emerald Energy Institute Camano banner

Bayelsa Senator-elect, others dump PDP for APC

By News Express on 14/05/2015

Gmail icon

Views: 4,359

Lawmakers repre­senting the Sena­torial District and Constituencies of President Goodluck Jon­athan in Bayelsa State yesterday dumped the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the All Progres­sives Congress (APC).

This was even as the for­mer governor of the state, Chief Timpreye Sylva, boasted that APC would win the next governorship election in the state later this year.

The defecting lawmakers include Senator Clever Iki­sikpo (Bayelsa East Sena­torial District), Mr. Nadu Karibo, House of Repre­sentatives member repre­senting Ogbia constituency and Azibola Omekwe rep­resenting Ogbia constitu­ency at the state House of Assembly, Mr. Azibola Omekwe.

Addressing newsmen at the APC national secre­tariat, Ikisikpo, who spoke on behalf of other defectors hinged their decision on the need to serve the interests of their constituents as well as the state.

Ikisikpo, who prior to his election to the Senate had been in the House of Repre­sentaives and state Assem­bly under the platform of PDP since 1999, said they joined APC to ensure that Bayelsa State did not miss out in the direction the na­tion was going.

He disclosed that the incumbent Governor of the state Dickson Seriake would soon join the APC, saying: “It is, indeed, un­fortunate that the PDP which used to be known for fairness and ability to accommodate different shades of opinion, has been hijacked by a few people.”

In his speech, the elated former governor of the state, Sylva, said the defec­tion of the lawmakers was a precursor to the big har­vest coming the way of the APC.

Adapted from Daily Sun.

Source News Express

Posted 14/05/2015 05:37:44 AM





You may also like...
Oil export resumes from OML 29 as Aiteo...

11 authors shortlisted for $100,000 NLNG literature prize...

9 accused of mafia connections refuse to speak...

Firstbank upgrades infrastructure, promises enhanced service delivery

Osun Lecturers protest unpaid salaries

Empty boast: Donald Trump under fire for failing...

Kogi’s new Governor declares zero tolerance for corruption...

WHO to declare Nigeria Polio-free

Budget Ministry targeting October for 2018 Budget presentation...

Catholic Bishop commits suicide

Dickson commends Buhari for disclosing nation’s economic status...

10-year-old girl dies after anal sex


Latest News IGP redeploys seven Police Commissioners •The affected states and their new CPs Only digital revolution will save Nigeria — Obi •Challenges Nigerian youth Boko Haram, collaborators hibernating in FCT, other cities ― Report Army releases emergency numbers for ‘Exercise Atilogwu Udo 1’ Bayelsa guber: Court grants APC stay of execution ― Sylva El-Rufai kneels, begs Kogi people to forgive Governor Bello Re-opening of borders: Nigeria, Benin, Niger set up committee ‘Multiple victims’ confirmed in school shooting near Los Angeles Bayelsa/Kogi: Buhari tasks INEC, security officials on good conduct Kogi/Bayelsa polls: Police ban orderlies to governors, politicians, vehicles without number plates Kidnapped Appeal Court Judge regains freedom Facebook takes down billions of fake accounts


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (562,139 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (452,015 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (401,021 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (335,177 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (303,349 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (280,224 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (258,629 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (256,772 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (238,260 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (224,605 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (201,221 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (197,977 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (108) Business & Economy (4,569) Business Verdict (86) Columnists (1,143) Complaints & Requests (97) Enterprise & Opportunities (219) Entertainment (703) Features (844) Global Business Monitor (493) ICT Monitor (67) International (4,204) Interview (211) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (176) Maggie's Blog (481) News (53,948) Opinion (1,418) Pidgin (17) Politics (11,722) Religion (1,118) Sports (2,224) Stock Watch (39) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera