Onyia emerges new Enugu NMA chairman, pledges to re-unite members

Posted by News Express | 30 November 2020 | 423 times

Gmail icon



Dr Jude Onyia, a physician with Enugu State University Teaching Hospital (ESUTH), Parklane, has emerged new Chairman of Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), Enugu State.

Onyia, who is popularly called JOT (Jude Onyia Tony), won with a total of 317 votes against his fellow contestant for the same position, Dr Akpe James, who got 258 votes.

In an acceptance speech after Onyia-led executives were sworn-in at the National Orthopaedic Hospital, Enugu at the weekend, the new chairman urged all contestants in the election to join hands with the new executive to take the association to a greater height.

“I want to assure you that the new executive will deliver and take NMA Enugu State to greater heights.

“In the recent past, we have fought ourselves over minor disagreements; but I believe now and today begin the healing and reconciliation process. We are going to embrace everybody that contested in the election.

“We will not have any reason to disrespect our elders in the association or our teachers no matter what.

“We will ensure that the vibrancy of the youths, which this new executive has, would be utilised in the positive light. We will use our vibrancy to re-unite NMA and make the association strong in Enugu State.

“The new executive will ensure that the welfare of members of the association is protected always,” he said.

Onyia thanked his teeming supporters and the electoral committee for ensuring that the association rules were followed that led to a hitch-free, credible and fair election.

Earlier, Dr Daiyabu Ibrahim, the Chairman Caretaker Committee of NMA Enugu State, advised the new executive to embrace peace and carry everyone along in the association.

Ibrahim, who is also the chairman of the NMA Enugu State Electoral Committee, called on them to ensure they deliver on their electioneering promises and mandates.

“Today is one of the happiest days in the life of the association and I thank you all for your support to conduct this very peaceful, transparent and hitch-free election,” he said.

In the election, Dr Ifedinso Ugwoke won the secretary position with a total vote of 384 to beat Dr Sunday Okafor, who got 187 votes; while Dr Cyril Uzoke and Dr Uzoamaka Ezenwugo were unanimously returned unopposed as assistant secretary and PRO respectively.

Also, Dr Chikezie Ogbologu elected as new Vice Chairman; Dr Ethel Obodo elected Treasurer; Dr Ejike Ijoma elected as Financial Secretary and Dr Augustus Ugwu elected as Social Secretary.

The earlier election of the NMA Enugu State held on August 6 in Enugu turned violent and inconclusive even as the NMA national body set-up a caretaker committee for the state headed by Ibrahim.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...