Senate confirms eight new justices for Supreme Court

Posted by News Express | 13 October 2020 | 915 times

Gmail icon



The Senate on Tuesday confirmed the nomination of eight Justices of the Appeal Court as Justices of the Supreme Court.

This was sequel to the adoption of the report of the Senate committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters chaired by Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, which screened the nominees last week.

The eight new Supreme Court judges include Hon. Justice Lawal Garba (North West); Hon. Justice Helen M. Ogunwumiju (South West); Hon. Justice Addu Aboki (North West) and Hon. Justice I. M. M. Saulawa (North West).

Others are Hon. Justice Adamu Jauro (North East); Hon. Justice Samuel C. Oseji (South South); Hon. Justice Tijjani Abubakar (North East) and Hon. Justice Emmanuel A. Agim (South South).

This brings to 20 the total number of Justices of the apex court with North East and North West having four Justices each and North Central having three Justices.

The other breakdown are South East (3); South West (4) and South South (3). (THISDAY)

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...