NewsExpress banner Firstbank Verve banner Fidelity bank card banner Umm Sulaim's Thoughts Camano banner

INEC postpones elections in 11 Federal Constituencies in Jigawa

By News Express on 28/03/2015

Gmail icon

Views: 2,584

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has postponed elections into the House of Representatives in eleven federal constituencies in Jigawa State.

The Jigawa State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Halliru Aliyu Tambawel, told newsmen about the postponement during a briefing on Friday night at the INEC headquarters in Dutse, the state capital.

The affected constituencies are: Dutse/Kiyawa; Ringim/ Taura; HadeJia/Kafin Hausa/Auyo

Jahun Miga; Gumel/Maigatari/Sule tankarkar; Gagarawa, Kaugama/Malam-Madori; Gwaram; Babura/Garki; Birnin Kudu /Buji; Birniwa/ Guri/Kirikasamma; and Kazaure/Roni/Gwiwa/’Yankwashi.

Mr Tambawel explained that the postponement was due to the short-fall of sensitive materials including ballot papers and results sheets from the Central Bank of Nigeria.

He, however, gave the assurance that the presidential and senatorial elections would hold in all 27 local government areas of the state as scheduled.

•Photo shows Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa State.

Source News Express

Posted 28/03/2015 5:53:16 PM





You may also like...
Five injured as another tanker explodes in Niger...

How I will resolve kingship crisis with my...

Outrage over mob attack on Amnesty office •SERAP...

Gunmen attack Katsina village, kill 10

Breaking News: 9 shot dead during prayer meeting...

Passenger slumps, dies at Lagos airport minutes after...

Anambra Govt wades into Ihiala kingship crisis

POWA calls for concerted efforts to check drug...

Witnesses disappoint Governor Oyetola at Osun Election Tribunal...

Discovery of oil in North: Jubilation as ‘heavy...

Akwa Ibom awards contract for new flyover in...

Tambuwal pays fines on behalf of 20 prisoners...


Latest News Bride falls into well, dies APC crisis: How Obaseki demystified Oshiomhole •Police put embattled APC Chairman, supporters under surveillance ISWAP terrorists kill 4 kidnapped health workers Tragedy as bus crushes 3 pupils to death in Ekiti Oshiomhole: Why I didn’t attend Ize-Iyamu’s reception NDDC leadership: Akpabio lied —Niger Delta Stakeholders EKEDC acquires mobile transformers, assures customers of improved services Man butchers lover, sells parts to herbalists, clerics Pastor jailed for stealing goat, Turkeys •Threatens owner with charm IPPIS: ASUU dares FG, insists on rejecting the payment platform Army repels armed bandits’ attack in Benue community Security alert video in circulation fake — Police warns


Most Read NUDE PHOTO OF OMOTOLA JALADE-EKEINDE surfaces online (572,263 views) Nigerian female sex addict opens up, says ‘I like it with both men and women’ (456,789 views) Shameless Genevieve Nnaji exposes breasts in public (406,771 views) Finally named: The full list of friends of Nigerian female sex addict who prowled Facebook (341,653 views) OLUMBA OLUMBA OBU (the one who called himself God) IS DEAD (308,021 views) 10 cars more expensive than Jets (292,468 views) Igbo scholar disgraces Femi Fani-Kayode •Demolishes claims on Igbo/Yoruba history with facts and figures (261,431 views) Breaking News: POPULAR REVEREND CONVERTS TO ISLAM in Kaduna (Nigeria) (260,582 views) OBJ’s son reported dead in Lagos plane crash •Names of more victims emerge (242,022 views) My wasted years in Olumba Olumba Obu’s Evil Brotherhood (228,501 views) Lagos plane crash: Journalist releases victims’ names (204,155 views) THE FINAL DISGRACE: Igbo scholar unleashes more facts about Igbo/Yoruba history, finishes off Femi Fani-Kayode with second article (200,479 views)


CBN milk production

CBN banner advert

UBA Wise Savers Promo


Categories Advertorials (3) African Press Organisation (81) Art & Literature (112) Business & Economy (4,622) Business Verdict (89) Columnists (1,157) Complaints & Requests (98) Enterprise & Opportunities (221) Entertainment (718) Features (855) Global Business Monitor (498) ICT Monitor (73) International (4,325) Interview (219) Live Commentary (30) Love Matters (178) Maggie's Blog (520) News (55,232) Opinion (1,440) Pidgin (18) Politics (11,888) Religion (1,133) Sports (2,255) Stock Watch (41) AMA & Al Jazeera Global Update







APO Group Partner




GOCOP Accredited Member

GOCOP Accredited member



Africa Media Agency and Al Jazeera