NFF sacks Ifeanyi Ubah Electoral Committee, inaugurates new one for Anambra FA election

Posted by News Express | 7 August 2020 | 962 times

Gmail icon



The Nigeria Football Federation has inaugurated a caretaker committee to run the affairs of Anambra State Football Association (AnSFA) in the next three months.

Speaking at the event on Thursday in Awka, the Chairman of Chairmen, Ibrahim Gusau, who represented NFF President, Amaju Pinnick, said the committee was duly constituted by the NFF in following the expiration of Senator Ifeanyi Ubah-led executive committee.

He explained that the electoral committee were unable to conduct the elections earlier fixed for July 27 and July 28 due to Covid-19 protocols put in place by Anambra Government.

Gusau, a member of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Board in Awka.

enjoined the committee to adopt and work with the existing Jude Anyadufu led electoral committee which he noted, was still valid to conduct a conclusive election.

He said: “There is no dual leadership in Anambra FA as the federation was duly communicated on August 3 by the Secretary of Anambra FA that there was a leadership vacuum, hence the constitution of the caretaker committee.”

In his speech, the chairman of the Caretaker Committee, Emeka Okeke, President of a local based football club, Aspire FC Adazi Ani said his team would harmonise all interests in Anambra Football Community for common good of the game.

While assuring that they will work with all positive minded people to ensure the state got the best, he said they were not oblivious of their mandate

He added: “As you all are aware, the AnSFA 2020 caretaker committee has been inaugurated by the NFF to take care of the board for a period of three months, we will promote football and ensure that duly elected executive of the board emerges within the period.

“Here in Anambra we have stakeholders, lovers of football, people with passion who contribute heavily to ensure that football activities go in in our local community, we shall bring all these interest groups under one roof.”

Other members of the Caretaker Committee ex-Rangers International player and former Anambra State FA Secretary, Victor Nwangwu, Vice chairman; Chijioke Onyedika, Secretary; Philip Udala; Charity Okonkwo; and Success Onyeabo.

Anambra FA Election Committee members during their swearing-in

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...