COVID-19: FG mulls lockdown of 18 local government areas •The affected LGAs

Posted by News Express | 29 June 2020 | 3,626 times

Gmail icon

•Chairman of Task Force on COVID-19 and SGF, Boss Mustapha

The Federal Government has hinted that the 18 local government areas in Nigeria that account for 60 percent of COVID-19 cases may have to be locked down to contain spread of the pandemic in the country.

This is even as it has linked the low mortality rate in the country compared to other countries with similar climatic characteristics to the age bracket of most of those infected by the virus.

Chairman of the Task Force on COVID-19 and Secretary to Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, stated this after he led his team to brief President Muhammadu Buhari on the progress of the national response to the pandemic at the presidential villa, Abuja on Monday.

He said the precision lockdown would be implemented by the government of the states where the 18 local governments reside.

The SGF added that Nigeria has not reached its peak and with 39 molecular labs, warning that the number of infections will continue to rise.

Mustapha while urging state governors to drive the process, also asked all local authorities including religious and traditional leaders to ensure compliance to non pharmaceutical interventions.

He added that the reason for the precision lockdown will be to place specific measures in certain places especially by state governments to enable aggressive testing for the disease and management.

According to data earlier released by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), 11 out of the 20 local government areas that account for 60 per cent of the cases are in Lagos State

The report listed the councils to include that Lagos Mainland Local Government Area, Abuja Municipal Area Council, Mushin Local Government Area, Eti-Osa Local Government Area in Lagos and Tarauni Local Government Area in Kano State.

Data obtained from NCDC as of June 2, showed that local government areas in Lagos and Abuja have recorded most COVID-19 cases in Nigeria.

Here is the list of the 20 local governments, according to the NCDC’s Situation Report 91 for June 2:

1 – Lagos – Lagos Mainland LG

2 – Abuja – Abuja Municipal

3 – Lagos – Mushin

4 – Lagos – Eti-Osa

5 – Kano – Tarauni

6 – katsina – Katsina

7 – Lagos – Alimosho

8 – Borno – Maiduguri

9 – Lagos – Kosofe

10 – Jigawa – Dutse

11 – Lagos – Ikeja

12 – Kano – Nassarawa

13 – Lagos – Oshodi/Isolo

14 – Lagos – Apapa

15 – Lagos – Amuwo Odofin

16 – Edo – Oredo

17 – Bauchi – Bauchi

18 – Lagos – Lagos Island

19 – Lagos – Surulere

20 – Ogun – Ado Odo/Ota

•Based on reports by Daily Sun and The PUNCH.

Source: News Express

Readers Comments

0 comment(s)

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

You may also like...